Country information

This section gives a broad overview of Singapore's generic characteristics, its Location, Capital, Area, Climate, Population, Ethnic make-up, Religions, Government, and Languages spoken including local dialects.

It is a sovereign city-state and island country in South-eastern Asia, at the southern tip of the Malay Peninsula, with Indonesia’s Riau islands to the south. It consists of one main island along with 62 other islets. 


722.5 km2 (279.0 square miles)

Singapore has a tropical rainforest climate with no distinctive seasons. Temperature and pressure do not vary greatly throughout the year, and there is high humidity, and abundant rainfall, with a wetter monsoon season from November to January.


5,612,300 (2017 estimate)

7,796 km2 (20,191.5 square miles)

There are four official languages, English, Malay, Mandarin Chinese and Tamil.  Most Singaporeans are bilingual but English serves as the lingua franca. 

Chinese 74.3%. Malay 13.3%. Indian 9.1%. Other 3.3% 

Buddhism 33.2%, Christianity 18.8%, No religion 18.5%. Islam 14.0%, Taoism/folk religion 10.0%, Hinduism 5.0%, others 0.6%

Singapore Dollar (SGD)

Unitary parliamentary republic


“Majulah Singapura” – “Onward Singapore”


The name Singapore is an Anglicisation of the native Malay name for the country “Singapura” which was in turn derived from Sanskrit – Simhapura (Simha is “lion”, pura is “town or city” hence the customary reference to the nation as the “Lion City”.